About Me

I am a Teacher-Librarian in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  This is my 12th year at my school and my 21st year teaching. Prior to teaching in Albuquerque, I worked in a variety of educational settings in California and Washington. I took several years off to stay at home with our two boys, John and Mark. During that time, I wrote curriculum and learned a lot about early childhood. When I was ready to go back to work in the classroom, I knew I wanted to focus on early childhood education.

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education, a Master’s Degree in Curriculum, Teaching & Learning with an emphasis in Reading & Language Development, and dual certification in elementary education and special education. A few years ago, I achieved National Board Certification in the area of Early/Middle Childhood Literacy. Teaching children how to read and write has always been my passion, and I’m especially interested in early literacy curriculum development.

I've been married to my husband Cael for 22 years.  My husband imports fair trade baskets from Africa. Through his company, Baskets of Africa, he supports thousands of African basket weavers and provides them with a sustainable income.  We have two sons. John is a freshman in college.   Mark is a junior who is interested in computer science and is an active member of the Civil Air Patrol.  

We enjoy traveling.  Here's a picture of our family taken in Italy last summer.



  1. Me, too! Thanks for pushing me to do this!

  2. I love your Monthly Homework Calendar. I am wondering if you sell an editable template of these?

    1. I don't, due to copyright limitations with the clip artists.